Privilege School Transport

The council provides free transport to all children who live over two miles walking distance from school, in the case of primary school children, and three miles for secondary school pupils. Free school transport is also provided for children with additional support needs. School transport routes are determined by the pick-up locations required for pupils who are entitled to free school transport.

Further information can be found in the home-to-school transport leaflet (pdf 868KB).

Privilege school transport costs

Pupils who live within two miles of primary school or three miles of secondary school may be able to travel on school transport at a charge.

View our privilege school transport costs for the full 2017-2018 school year:

  • Primary - £107 per place or £267.50 per family
  • Academy - £168 per place or £420 per family

Families in receipt of a school clothing grant are entitled to a 50 percent discount.

Part year transport is available on a pro-rata basis. You can contact school transport to find out the specific charge that will apply to your application.

The 2018-2019 transport costs are not available yet. 

Applying for privilege school transport

Parents or carers can apply for a privilege place for their child by downloading an application form, where spare seats are available on a school transport route.

Discounts are available for pupils entitled to school clothing grants, and to families with three or more children travelling to the same school.

In-zone pupils

If you submit an application part way through a school year you will be charged on a pro-rata basis. You can contact us to find out the specific charge that will apply to your application.

Information on how to apply is provided in the in-zone privilege transport application form (pdf 135KB).

Out of zone pupils

All Aberdeenshire addresses fall within the catchment area of a primary school and a secondary school. If you do not know which schools your home is zoned to, check the interactive map.

Our out of zone application form is currently under review. To apply for out of zone transport for school year 2018-19 please contact school transport with your request and home address. 

Local bus services

There are school transport services which operate as local bus services which are open to the general public. On these services pupils may purchase single, return or multi-journey tickets from the driver. Alternatively, parents can apply to purchase a season ticket by downloading the correct application form. For details of the times of these buses please visit the Traveline website.

The bus routes are: 


Service number


Aboyne Academy


Dinnet – Tarland - Aboyne

Aboyne Academy 


Braemar – Aboyne 

Alford Academy


Strathdon – Alford

Banff Academy


Ordiquhill – Whitehills – Banff

Banff Academy


Macduff – Banff

Banff Academy


Macduff - Banff

Ellon Academy


New Deer – Ellon

Gordon Schools


Alford – Huntly

Gordon Schools 


Inverurie – Insch – Huntly

Gordon Schools 


Keith – Oyne – Auchleven – Huntly 

Kemnay Academy


Inverurie – Kemnay

Mackie Academy


Auchenblae – Stonehaven

Mackie Academy


St Cyrus - Stonehaven

Mackie Academy 


Brechin – Stonehaven

Mearns Academy 


Brechin – Edzell – Laurencekirk

Peterhead Academy


Boddam - Peterhead

Portlethen Academy


Newtonhill – Cammachmore – Portlethen

Portlethen Academy


Newtonhill – Portlethen

Turriff Academy 


Fraserburgh – New Deer – Turriff

Turriff Academy 


Turriff Circular Service

Help us improve